Faith Child – “What are the different types of angels?”

Question: “What are the different types of  angels?”
 Angels fall into two categories: the  “unfallen” angels and the fallen angels. Unfallen angels are those who have  remained holy throughout their existence and accordingly are called “holy  angels” (Matthew  25:31). In Scripture, generally when angels are mentioned, it is the class  of holy angels in view. By contrast, the fallen angels are those who have not  maintained their holiness. Holy angels fall into special classes, and certain  individuals are named and mentioned. Michael the archangel is likely the head of  all the holy angels, and his name means “who is like unto God?” (Daniel 10:21; 12:1; 1  Thessalonians 4:16; Jude 9; Revelation 12:7-10).  Gabriel is one of the principal messengers of God, his name meaning “hero of  God,” and was entrusted with important messages such as those delivered to  Daniel (Daniel 8:169:21), to Zacharias (Luke 1:18-19), and to Mary  (Luke  1:26-38).
Most holy angels are not given names but are described  only as “elect angels” (1 Timothy  5:21). The expressions “principalities” and “powers” seem to be used of all  angels whether fallen or holy (Luke 21:26Romans 8:38; Ephesians 1:21; 3:10; Colossians 1:16; 2:10, 15; 1 Peter 3:22). Some angels  are designated as “cherubim,” which are living creatures who defend God’s  holiness from any defilement of sin (Genesis  3:24; Exodus 25:  18, 20; Ezekiel 1:1-18).  “Seraphim” are another class of angels mentioned only once in Scripture in Isaiah 6:2-7 and are  described as having three pairs of wings. They apparently have the function of  praising God, being God’s messengers to Earth, and are especially concerned with  the holiness of God. Most of the references to holy angels in Scripture refer to  their ministries which cover a wide field of achievement. They were present at  creation, the giving of the Law, at the birth of Christ and at His resurrection,  at the Ascension, and they will be present at the Rapture of the Church and the  Second Coming of Christ.
In stark contrast to the company of holy  angels, the fallen angels are also innumerable and are described as fallen from  their first estate. Led by Satan, who was originally a holy angel, the fallen  angels defected, rebelled against God, and became sinful in their nature and  work. Fallen angels have been divided into two classes: those who are free and  those who are bound. Of the fallen angels, Satan alone is given particular  mention in the Bible. When Satan fell (John 8:44; Luke 10:18), he drew after  him one third of the angels. Of those, some are reserved in chains awaiting  judgment (1  Corinthians 6:3; 2 Peter 2:4Jude 6), and the remainder are  free and are the demons, or devils, to whom reference is constantly made  throughout the New Testament (Mark 5:9, 15; Luke 8:30, 1 Timothy  4:1). They are Satan’s servants in all his undertakings and share his doom  (Matthew  25:41; Revelation  20:10).
Recommended Resources: Logos Bible Software and  Angels:  Elect & Evil by C. Fred Dickason.

While he is not the author of  every article on, for citation purposes, you may reference our  CEO, S. Michael Houdmann.

Read more:

About ptl2010

Jesus Christ is coming soon

1 Response to Faith Child – “What are the different types of angels?”

  1. ptl2010 says:

    The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them. Psalm 34:7
    The precise identity of the “angel of the Lord” is not given in the Bible. There are Old and New Testament references to “angels of the Lord,” “an angel of the Lord,” and “the angel of the Lord.” It seems when the definite article “the” is used, it is specifying a unique being, separate from the other angels. The angel of the Lord speaks as God, identifies Himself with God, and exercises the responsibilities of God (Genesis 16:7-12; 21:17-18; 22:11-18; Exodus 3:2; Judges 2:1-4; 5:23; 6:11-24; 13:3-22; 2 Samuel 24:16; Zechariah 1:12; 3:1; 12:8). In several of these appearances, those who saw the angel of the Lord feared for their lives because they had “seen the Lord.” Therefore, it is clear that in at least some instances, the angel of the Lord is a theophany, an appearance of God in physical form.

    Read more:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.